With the leaves falling and autumn in full swing, it’s a great time to do leaf rubbings.  You could really do rubbings of any flat object, but leaf rubbings are traditional and it’s the perfect time to do it.

All you need is:

  • A couple leaves
  • A sheet of paper
  • Some crayons
  • Tape

    It took me a few tries to figure out the best way to do this with a toddler age group.  The first few times the paper moved all around which caused the image of the leaf to not turn out recognizable.  I finally realized that tape was the secret weapon!

    I put the leaves on the table, placed the paper over top and taped the paper to the table.  This way there would be no movement from the paper and the leaf image would turn out great!  

    Now it’s time to start rubbing!  I have found that little fingers have more control with rubbings when they hold a jumbo crayon.  I would think that the triangle jumbo crayons would work even better as they have flat sides that would lay flat on the paper!   Which brings me to my next point.  To make the rubbing you need to remove the paper from the crayon and rub the side of the crayon all over the paper.  Coloring with the tip of the crayon will not leave a recognizable final image.

    Once they’re done coloring, untape the paper, and take a look at the images!

